Teach Me How to Trust Myself

I sat with my health/life coach, telling her how frustrated I’ve been with my cravings. About how difficult it’s been to stay away from potato chips and kettle corn, wondering why my salads of lean protein and veggies aren’t satisfying anymore. I tell her, what I really want, after being mostly gluten-free for several years, is a fucking sandwich. We talked about when and why I originally gave up wheat and how it makes me feel now. How being gluten free isn’t actually making me feel fantastic anymore. She asked me if I would be willing to trust my body and experiment with small amounts of a healthier bread.

I was recently presented with an opportunity to approach my weight loss coaching practice from a different angle, offering meal replacements that have proven results. I talked to some people, did my research. It was tempting, it had proven results, it would be an easy sell, but I didn’t feel in alignment with it, it felt heavy in my gut. I trusted my gut and felt re-inspired in the work that I am doing.

When I was encouraged to start my blog, to write more, the message I was given was that as long as I am authentic, speaking from my truth, I will always be protected. Not that everyone would like me or agree with me, but that I will always be protected. Every time I write or speak, I trust that truth.

Trust has been a theme for me lately.

Like most of us, I’ve been hurt, betrayed, trusted the wrong people, made bad decisions. And like a lot of us, I closed my heart a little with every betrayal, stopped trusting so easily. In my darker places, my expectations have sometimes been colored by what’s been shown to me in the past by others, when the current person or situation has done nothing to deserve my distrust. The people in my life deserve so much more from me than that.

Can I trust myself enough to open my heart?

As I’ve healed from past mistakes, I’ve come to know that my intuition has NEVER led me wrong. When I’ve followed my intuitive guidance, I have always made good decisions, the best decisions for me at that time. I’ve not always taken the easiest path, but it’s always been a positive outcome. The mistakes I’ve made, people I shouldn’t have trusted, there were always signs that I ignored. People really do show you who they are, if you pay attention.

It’s not so much about trusting others indiscriminately, it’s about trusting my own instincts about who to trust.

The life I want to live is calling for me to open my heart and trust myself again. Trust my body, trust my gut, trust my intuition, trust my voice.

Teach me how to trust my heart, my mind, my intuition, my inner knowing, the senses of my body, the blessings of my spirit, teach me to trust these things so that I may enter my sacred space and love beyond my fear And thus walk in balance with the passing of each glorious sun. ~Lakota Prayer

Rose quartz heart

One thought on “Teach Me How to Trust Myself

  1. I loved this. Trust can be so hard, whether it’s for a person who hurt you or you for yourself. Our little minds and egos love to get in the way, But, I’ve learned if I can trust and let it go, and let life flow as its suppose to without me trying to be over controlling, then it all falls into place. And, that includes our bodies.They are miraculous when we treat them well and let them do their job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

